01/04/2020: Travel Advisory Updated

1. India

The entire nation will be under lock down for 21 days till midnight of 14 April 2020.

2. Thailand

The Kingdom of Thailand has declared a state of Emergency and all Foreigners will be restricted entry at all points with the exception of the following:

Transit, transfer and entry into Thailand are however allowed only for: 
i. Persons with exemption from the Prime Minister or the Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs Thailand under certain conditions and prescribed time period; and 
ii. Persons on diplomatic or consular mission, or under international organizations, representatives of the Government performing their duties in Thailand or other persons or international agencies that the Ministry of Foreign Affairs gives permission, and their families. In this case certificate of entry to the Kingdom issued by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs is required. 
iii. Non Thai nationals with work permit or who have been granted permission from Thai Government agencies to work in Thailand.

The persons in Sl. No. 2 and 3 must have fit to fly health certificate issued no more than 72 hrs before travelling.

Passengers or persons permitted to enter Thailand shall strictly comply with disease prevention measures imposed by the Government.

The Immigration Officers have the power to deny the entry of non-Thai Nationals who have been tested positive for COVID-19, or under the suspicion of being infected or who refuse to undergo such test.

3. Singapore

All short-term visitors will no longer be allowed to enter or transit through Singapore from 11.59pm on Monday (March 23) in view of the heightened risks of importing coronavirus into the country.

4. Nepal (as of 31 March 2020)

All international and domestic commercial flights remain suspended in Nepal till 15 April 2020 midnight (23:59 Nepalese Standard Time).

5. Bangladesh (as of 29 March 2020)

The Government of the People’s Republic of Bangladesh has taken the following decision in view of the latest coronavirus related developments:

i. With effect from 0001 hrs (BST), 31 March 2020 until 2359 hrs (BST), 7 April 2020, all scheduled international commercial passenger flights from Bahrain, Bhutan, Hongkong, India, Kuwait, Malaysia, Maldives, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Sri Lanka, Singapore, Thailand, Turkey and UAE shall not be allowed to land at any international airport in Bangladesh.

ii. Any traveller who lived in or visited EU region and Iran since 1 March 2020 will not be allowed to enter Bangladesh until 15 April 2020. The nationals of the countries of the EU region and Iran who are living outside the EU region and Iran since 29th February 2020 can travel to Bangladesh with valid visas.

iii. Foreign nationals having valid visas will be required to produce a medical certificate (with English translation) to be obtained within 72 hours of travel, indicating that he/she does not have any symptoms of COVID-19. The individual needs to submit these certificates on arrival at the entry point (airport/sea port/land port) in Bangladesh.

6. Hong Kong

All visitors to the city and transit services at the Hong Kong International airport will be suspended from 12:01 am, 25 March, 2020.

If you need further information please check our ‘Responses to travel queries’ (FAQ) posted on the Ministry’s website (https://www.mfa.gov.bt/?page_id=7587) or contact the following MFA officials:

1. Mr. Tsheten Wangyel, Chief, Public Diplomacy Division, Phone No. 77216054 
2. Mr. Jigdrel Y. Tshering, Sr. Desk Officer, Public Diplomacy Division, Phone No. 17624259
3. Mr. Tandin Dorji, Sr. Desk Officer, Department of Bilateral Affairs, Phone No. 17842713 
4. Ms. Rinchen Dema, Chief, Regional Organizations Division, Phone No. 77172233 
5. Ms. Tashi Peldon, Offtg. Chief, Department of Bilateral Affairs, Phone No. 17176767
6. Mr. Jigme Norbu, Sr. Desk Officer, Department of Bilateral Affairs, Phone No. 17706836
7. Mr. Sangay Needup, Sr. Desk Officer, Department of Multilateral Affairs, Phone No. 17945858
8. Mr. Tshewang Dema, Sr. Desk Officer, Department of Bilateral Affairs, Phone No. 17606403
9. Mr. Dorji Khandu, Sr. Desk Officer, Department of Bilateral Affairs, Phone No. 17660470

Related Posts

28/09/20: Travel Requisite – MoH

It is not recommended to travel at these uncertain times however, if it is absolutelyRead More

27/09/20: Undertaking for Bhutanese travelling abroad – MoFA

Greetings from the Ministry of Foreign Affairs! In the wake of the pandemic, the RoyalRead More

21/09/20: Press Release on Special Relief Flight – MoFA

Comments are Closed

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!